American Society for Radiation Oncology Elects Members

Aug 10, 2018 | Astro, Oncology

The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has elected four new officers to the board of directors.  ASTRO was founded in 1958 and among other things is dedicated to improving patient care through professional education and training, support for clinical practice and health policy standards, advancement of science and research, and advocacy. New members include:

Thomas Eichler, MD, FASTRO, staff physician at Sarah Cannon Cancer Institute in Richmond, Va., will serve as president-elect for 1 year. He then will serve 1-year terms as president and chair of the board of directors.

Benjamin Smith, MD, associate professor of radiation oncology and health services research at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, will serve as clinical affairs and quality council vice chair.

Benjamin Movsas, MD, FASTRO, chair of the radiation oncology department and Herndon endowed chair in oncology research at Henry Ford Cancer Institute, will serve as education council vice chair.

Howard Sandler, MD, MS, FASTRO, chair of the radiation oncology department and Ronald H. Bloom family chair in cancer therapeutics at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, will serve as government relations council vice chair.

“Radiation oncology has a significant role in discussions on safeguarding cancer patients’ access to high-quality, high-value treatments. The dedicated leaders chosen by ASTRO’s 10,000-plus members will help drive these conversations and guide our field on the key issues of education, advocacy, quality and safety,” Brian Kavanagh, MD, chairman of ASTRO’s board of directors, said in a press release.

ASTRO members also elected four individuals to serve on the society’s nominating committee. They are John Buatti, MD, FASTRO, of University of Iowa; Matthew Katz, MD, of Lowell General Hospital; John Bayouth, PhD, of University of Wisconsin-Madison; and George Wilson, PhD, of William Beaumont Hospital.

All officers and nominating committee members will begin their terms during ASTRO Annual Meeting, which will be held in October in San Antonio.


Pin It on Pinterest